Symphony in C

Performing at Rutgers-Camden
Center for the Arts

Mailing Address:
PO Box 8610
Collingswood, NJ  08108

Administrative and Box Office:
576 Haddon Avenue
Collingswood, NJ 08108
Telephone: (856) 240-1503
Facsimile: (856) 240-1519

Stilian Kirov, Music Director
Pamela Brant, President

Bernstein and Dvořák

Stilian Kirov
Date and Time: 
January 28, 2017 - 8:00pm
Augustin Hadelich, violin, 2016 Grammy Award Winner

2016-17 Young Composers’ Competition Winner

Bernstein: Serenade after Plato’s Symposium
Dvořák: Symphony No. 8 in G Major, Op. 88
An exciting new work by the winner of our Young Composers Competition opens the concert. 2016 Grammy Award winning violinist Augustin Hadelich returns with Leonard Bernstein’s Serenade after Plato’s Symposium. Completed in 1954, the Serenade was written for violinist Isaac Stern, and remains one of Bernstein’s most lyrical orchestral works. Dvořák’s Symphony No. 8 is an idyllic depiction of a sunny summer’s day, with the birds singing and the leaves rustling in a gentle breeze.