Symphony in C

Performing at Rutgers-Camden
Center for the Arts

Mailing Address:
PO Box 8610
Collingswood, NJ  08108

Administrative and Box Office:
576 Haddon Avenue
Collingswood, NJ 08108
Telephone: (856) 240-1503
Facsimile: (856) 240-1519

Stilian Kirov, Music Director
Pamela Brant, President

Young Composers' Competition 2016-2017

Congratulations to 2016-17 Young Composers' Competition Winner, Scott Lee!! 

As demonstrated by Symphony in C’s core mission, the Symphony has a strong commitment to fostering the careers of young musicians and composers. Each season Symphony in C offers composers the opportunity to submit an original composition for consideration by the Symphony’s artistic staff. Following are the rules and eligibility, application procedures and the winning prize. Also see past winners of the competition and their winning compositions.


  • Performance of the winning work by Symphony in C, conducted by Maestro Stilian Kirov, on January 28, 2017.
  • Professional archival recording of the performance.
  • Subsequent broadcast/webcast by WRTI-FM and wrti.com
  • Round-trip domestic airfare to attend rehearsals and concert.
  • Winning work to be considered by Theodore Presser Company for inclusion in its rental library.


  • Only composers born after January 28, 1987 may apply.
  • Works with a performance history are eligible.
  • Instrumentation may not exceed 2-2-2-2 (incl. standard doublings), 4-2-3-1, Timp., 5 Percussion, Harp, and Strings. Please note the maximum orchestration is slightly different from previous years. Works with soloists are not eligible. Click here for a FAQ about instrumentation details.
    Percussion instruments should not exceed the following large instruments: xylophone, glockenspiel, chimes, small bass drum, large bass drum.  Smaller instruments such as snare and smaller are allowed.
  • Only US citizens, permanent residents, and current foreign students at American schools may apply.
  • Duration should be between 8 and 15 minutes.
  • The winning composer must provide 2 full scores and a full set of parts, with a sufficient string count.
  • The winning composer may be asked to participate in educational outreach programs during the week of rehearsals.
  • Scores must be of a legibility suitable for efficient rehearsal and performance. Parts must be carefully proofread, and of a legibility suitable for efficient rehearsal and performance, with good page turns, and ample rehearsal numbers and cues. We recommend that all entrants consult our guidelines for preparing score and parts. Click here to view.


  • Send all materials to Symphony in C Young Composers’ Competition, PO Box 8610, Collingswood, NJ 08108. PLEASE NOTE THIS IS A NEW ADDRESS. Packages must be postmarked by November 1, 2016.
  • Submit 2 copies of the full score and 1 copy of a sample instrumental part. Only one work may be submitted by each composer. Scores must be submitted as hard copy, not as digital files.
  • If you would like your materials returned to you, please include a self-addressed, stamped envelope with sufficient postage.  The postage cannot be dated and must be actual stamps.  Submissions sent without a return envelope, sufficient postage, or postage with improper dates will not be returned.
  • Two copies of a recorded performance or reading session, or a piano or midi demo tape are preferred, but are not required. Recordings must be sent as an Audio CD.
  • Each application must include a completed entry form, Click here to download application.
  • Supplementary bio materials (2 copies) may be enclosed but are not required.
  • Previous winners are not eligible.
  • Any questions about the application process should be directed to Joe Hart, VP of Artistic Operations, at 856-240-1503, or jhart@symphonyinc.org 

Past Winners:
2016-17: Scott Lee-Vicious Circles
  • 2015-16: Patrick O'Malley - Symphonic Poem: Even in Paradise...
  • 2014-15: Charles Peck - Metropolitian
  • 2013-14: Jules Pegram – Neon Nights
  • 2012-13: Douglas Buchanan – Malleus
  • 2011-12: Roger Zare - Green Flash
  • 2010-11: Michael Gilbertson - Wingspan
  • 2009-10: Andrew McPherson - Interstate Holiday
  • 2008-09: Clint Needham - Radiant Nation
  • 2007-08: Zhou Tian - The Palace of Nine Perfections
  • 2006-07: Takuma Itoh - Concerto for Orchestra
  • 2005-06: Michael Djupstrom - Prelude to a Forgotten Opera
  • 2004-05: Martin Kennedy - Oranges
  • 2003-04: John Kaefer - Mosaic
  • 2002-03: Anthony Cheung - Serendipitous Scenes
  • 2001-02: David Laganella - Lamentoso
  • 2000-01: Dan Coleman - The Voice of the Rain
  • 1999-00: Carter Pann - Slalom
  • 1998-99: Paul Yeon Lee - Silhouette
  • 1997-98: Amy Scurria - Beyond All Walking
  • 1996-97: Michael Karmon - And the Rhythm Is Just a Little Bit Off...